Archie

I got Archie from an ASPCA animal shelter when he was 4 months old. I was going through a tough time in my life. I had just been laid off my teaching job, and I was worried about what was to come. Suddenly, I recalled one of the many conversations I had enjoyed with Luke Reagan so many years ago.

“If you’re ever feeling lonely,” he said, holding my hand, “Meaning, of course, that you’re without me, you shouldn’t hesitate to get a dog.” I remember distinctly looking at him, confused.

“How did that get brought up?” I asked. We had just been having a playful conversation on birds.

“I dunno, just… I had a rescue dog when I was little and it changed my life.”

“Okay…” I said, tucking the information into a distant corner of my brain where it was promptly forgotten… until I found myself lonely and without Luke twenty years later.

Taking his advice, I rushed to the shelter. The robust woman at the front desk joyfully explained that an entire litter of Havanese puppies had just been brought in from an abusive breeder, and they were ready for adoption.

Without even looking at the puppy I signed the form. I was just that desperate. While I was paying and she was bringing it out, I looked at the form describing Havanese traits and perks. I was astonished to find that it was just the kind I was looking for.

As soon as I saw Archie, of course, I was in love. He looked back and forth from the lady to me, the lady, me, and then bounded over and gave me tiny little laps all across the face. That’s where I got the idea for his name. Archie after the Archie in Riverdale that found it so hard to choose between Betty and Veronica.

Archie smoothed over my rough patch with his affection and caring. Honestly, I don’t know if I could have done it without him. Together, we make an awesome team.

Until next time, this is Lollipop signing off!

7 thoughts on “Archie

  1. Anonymous says:

    It’s nice that Archie chose you, rather than choosing “the robust woman at the front desk.” Do you feel that you were his Betty or his Veronica?

    Like

    • archiesugar says:

      Yeah. I think I’m more Veronica, because, no offense Betty, but Archie leans more towards her in the books. In fact, after I got Archie I felt inclined to get the entire set of Archie books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

